Communication Awards

The Communication Excellence Awards recognize outstanding communications efforts by our chamber members. These awards are typically presented annually at the Staff Leadership Development Conference.  

The program for 2020 is now closed, and we're proud to announce our 2020 winners in the following categories:

Wilson Chamber - Wilson Means Business Podcast 

Lexington Chamber & Visitors Center - 2019 Dining on the Dam

Under 700 Members - CAMPAIGNS
Alamance Chamber - Campaign for Women's Symposium ROAR

Over 700 Members - CAMPAIGNS 
Greater Winston-Salem, Inc. - Winston-Salem: Our Time is Now 

Under 700 Members - ELECTRONIC 
Clayton Chamber - Economic Development Marketing Video: Think Clayton 

Over 700 Members - ELECTRONIC 
Greater Summerville/Dorchester County Chamber - Jena and Kevin Do Things Video Series

Under 700 Members - PUBLICATIONS 
Richmond County Chamber - Richmond County Magazine 

Over 700 Members - PUBLICATIONS 
Greater Sumter Chamber - Membership Directory: Guide to Sumter, SC 2019-2020

To view each of the winning submissions, please click here  for the presentation with links for each winner.

Service Awards

CACCE will award a Certificate of Service in recognition to members upon each five years of service in the chamber of commerce industry. These awards are presented annually at the Staff Leadership Development Conference.  If you are celebrating a five-year incremental anniversary in 2020, you are eligible for this award.

The award program is now closed.  The awards will be presented at the 2020 Annual Management Conference. 

Outstanding Chamber of the Year Award

In addition to recognizing organization excellence, the Outstanding Chamber of the Year Award primarily focuses on acknowledging one or more significant achievements / accomplishments that a chamber has initiated, stimulated and/or led in its respective service area at some point during the past 18 months.  All chamber members of CACCE in good standing are eligible to apply.

This award is presented annually at the Annual Management Conference.  

The award process is now closed.  We will open the process for 2020 soon.

Chamber Executive of the Year Award

The Chamber Executive of the Year recognizes long-term executives who have excelled over a period of years in leading and innovatively building their chamber. The award is based on the demonstration of excellence in areas of chamber leadership, organizational management, service to the profession, community reputation / involvement, and personal attributes.

This award is presented annually at the Annual Management Conference. 

The award process is now closed.  We will open for 2020 soon.

Lifetime Achievement Award

This pinnacle award (formerly Honorary Lifetime Membership) is bestowed by CACCE on individuals who have retired after respectable and stellar careers in chamber leadership. Qualifications for nomination include:

  • Five continuously active years of membership in CACCE at the chamber where the candidate most recently served or was most closely associated;
  • Chamber professional for a minimum of ten total years; and
  • Honorably retired from the chamber profession for at least two years.

If any applications are received, this award is presented at the Annual Management Conference.

The award process is now closed.  We will open the process for 2020 soon.


The following former chamber professionals have been recognized as Lifetime Achievement Award winners:

Joseph Augustine
Phillip Ballinger
Jerry Bartels, CCE
Grier Blackwelder
Genie Bohler, deceased
David Cooley, CCE
Phil Coyle
Bob Croft, deceased
Tom Dayvault
K.V. Epting
Chuck Ewart, CCE, IOM
Tom Fitzpatrick
John Garman, CCE
Carroll Gray, CCE
Nat Greene
Ben Haskew 
Frank "Bo" Lewis
Lee Luff, CCE, CAE
Rick Lutovsky
Charles McFall
W.L. "Mac" McIlory
Ike McLeese, deceased
Dan Meyer 
June Murff
Peggy Paksoy
R.L. "Dusty" Rhodes
Susanne Sartelle
Hal Siler
Oliver Toomey 
Charles Van Rysselberg
Jean Veeder
William Veeder
Edward Walker
Tom White
Sonny Wilburn
Sue Wilmouth, deceased
Bob Wright